Achieve or Renew Your Mortgage Loan Originator License

Providing industry leading classroom, LiveStream, and online courses!

Program Overview

IFREC is part of Gold Coast School of Mortgage and provides Florida’s best course materials, formats, and instructors.   Our curriculum and staff is dedicated to helping you obtain or renew your Mortgage Loan Originator’s license as we have done for thousands of other students across the state.  If you are considering getting your license, or need continuing education to renew your existing license, you have come to the right place.

Below you will learn more about how to license requirements, how to get started, and our classroom, LiveStream, and online course options.

How to Get Started in Mortgage – Quick Tips

  1. First and Most Important – Select your school and your class schedule.
  2. Before or as soon as you register for class, apply to NMLS for your ID number.
  3. Think positive!  PREPARE – Get your text and read, read, read before your class begins.
  4. Do not miss class time. Pay attention. Ask questions. Find a study pal.
  5. Use your study guide. Take your end of course exam. PASS IT!
  6. Sit for the licensing exam. PASS IT!  Congratulations.

Our motto: LEARN MORE • EARN MORE

Mortgage Loan Originator’s License Requirements

Mortgage Loan Originator’s License – required for an individual who, directly or indirectly solicits or offers to solicit a mortgage loan, accepts or offers to accept an application for a mortgage loan, negotiates or offers to negotiates the terms or conditions of a new or existing  mortgage loan on behalf of a borrower or lender, processes a mortgage loan application, or negotiates  or offers to negotiate the sale of an existing mortgage loan to a non-institutional investor for compensation or gain.

The most visible changes to the mortgage industry are the stringent licensing requirements today’s loan originators are held to and the SAFE Act which is  designed to enhance consumer protection and reduce fraud by encouraging states to establish minimum standards for loan originators.

Pre-Licensure Education Requirements

Information about Getting Started from the NMLS Resource Center

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This course covers topics required by the SAFE Act: Federal lending legislation (3 hrs), ethics (3 hrs), and nontraditional mortgage products (2 hrs). Also included are 10 hours of electives on key concepts, including financial disclosure, privacy protection, consumer I.D., and predatory lending protection laws; government loan programs; the SAFE Act; financial calculations; conventional loans and financing; loan processes, products, and finance instruments. This course concludes with Florida state-specific topics (2 hrs), including state licensing and business requirements, business requirements, prohibited activities, and potential disciplinary actions.

View Classroom Courses

View LiveStream Courses

View Online Courses

Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning with the first year after they complete PE (see chart below). Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of Florida specific education. Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

View Classroom Courses

View LiveStream Courses

View Online Courses